Welcome to the

Department of Government

Sarah Kreps Sarah Kreps, Associate Professor of Government Learn More


Cornell’s department of government is devoted to the study of political power, political institutions, public policy, public opinion and participation, political economy, interactions between citizens and governments, and the international system.


The field of Government is divided into four subfields:

American Politics(the political behavior, policies, and institutions of the United States) Comparative Politics(the political institutions and processes of countries around the world) International Relations(transactions between states, international organizations and transnational actors) Political Theory & Philosophy(normative theories of politics and history of political thought)
events Political Theory Workshop Co-sponsored by Africana Studies and Latina/o Studies (See schedule) Politics, Sandwiches, and Comments (PSAC) Scheduled Fridays, 2014-2015 International Law/International Relations Colloquium
Hire a Cornell PhD